Mulemwa Reinstalled As PAU Board Chair For Second Term

Dr. Jane Nambakire Mulemwa recieves the instrumenst of power from Dr. Kitutu Mary Gorreti as chairperson of the new PAU board of directors COURTESY PHOTO Dr. Jane Nambakire Mulemwa recieves the instrumenst of power from Dr. Kitutu Mary Gorreti as chairperson of the new PAU board of directors

The Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Dr. Kitutu Kimono Mary Goretti, has this week inaugurated the second Board of Directors for Petroleum Authority of Uganda (PAU) following the expiry of inaugural board team on 3rd October 2019.

Dr. Jane N. Mulemwa, who led the inaugural board for the past four years, having taken over office on 4th October 2015, was reappointed by President Yoweri Museveni and approved by parliament and will now steer the Authority for the next four years and her final term.

The appointment of the board and approval by parliament is provided for under the Petroleum Act, 2013. The Act provides that the PAU will have a Board of Seven (7) members and that, at least three (3) members of the Board shall be women. 

Dr. Mulemwa will now serve the Authority with other retained members Ms. Doreen Kabasindi Wandera and Mr. Kiryowa Kiwanuka. The new Board members that complete the seven member board are; Mr. Bernard Ongodia, the Principal of the Uganda Petroleum Institute Kigumba, Dr. Kevin Aanyu, a lecturer in the department of Geology and Petroleum studies at Makerere University, Dr. Noble Ephraim Banadda, a Chemical Engineer, and Ms. Lynda Biribonwa, an Environment, Health, Safety and Quality Management professional.

The Minister tasked the new Board to steer the sector to ensure the Final Investment Decision (FID) is achieved.  “You are coming on board at a critical time when the Ministry and the Authority are steering the Upstream and Midstream sector towards FID. It is also critical for the Authority to look beyond FID and adequately prepare for how the sector will operate post this milestone. You are therefore encouraged to ensure the right systems, processes and people are in place to steer the petroleum subsector forward,” she said.

Mr. Robert Kasande, the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development revealed that the new Board had been approved as per the requirements of the law.

The law provides that the Board should have proven experience in any of the following disciplines: - Petroleum Geosciences or Engineering; Health, Safety and Environment matters; Law; Business Administration or Management; Finance or Economics; or, Chemical and process or Refinery Engineering.

The inaugural Board submitted the end of term report highlighting, among others, the achievements made, and challenges faced. While passing her vote of thanks to the appointing Authority, Dr. Jane Mulemwa commended the president for having followed the recommendation of the pioneer Board to maintain an institutional memory and continuity when appointing the new Board.

“The composition of the new Board clearly shows that the president followed our recommendation and consequently we have three (3) old members Mr. Kiryowa Kiwanuka, Ms. Doreen Kabasindi and myself being reappointed alongside four (4) new members,” she noted.


Last modified onFriday, 15 May 2020 20:24

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.